Yellowcard's Photo


Yellowcard Biography

The punk-inspired quintet Yellowcard formed in Jacksonville, FL, in 1997 but didn't solidify their lineup until a move to southern California in early 2000. Comprised of vocalist/guitarist Ryan Key, vocalist/violinist Sean Mackin, guitarist Ben Harper, drummer Longineu Parsons, and ba**ist Warren Cooke, the band officially debuted on wax in 2001 with One for the Kids (Lobster), and returned a year later with the Underdog EP for Fueled by Ramen. The group had a really big year in 2003, replacing Cooke with Pete Mosely, signing with Capitol, issuing Ocean Avenue on the label, and heading out for a series of Warped Tour dates with the recently added Mosely replaced by Alex Lewis. Fall and winter found Yellowcard hitting clubs with acts like Matchbook Romance and Less Than Jake. br /br /In late 2004, Ocean Avenue was certified double platinum by the RIAA, and singles such as "Way Away," "Only One," and the title track continued to impact MTV and Top 40 radio for the rest of the year. The same year, Lewis was given his walking papers when Mosely approached the band about rejoining. Yellowcard's sophomore effort, Where We Stand, was reissued in June 2005, and Lights and Sounds was released in early 2006. Upon its first week of release, Lights and Sounds entered the Billboard Top 200 at number five and earned the number one spot on the Alternative Album chart, quickly gaining momentum on the 2.5 million-selling Ocean Avenue. Meanwhile, founding member Harper left the group and was replaced by Staring Back guitarist Ryan Mendez. ~ Johnny Loftus, All Music Guide

Related Links

No links are attached to this artist.