Hot Water Music's Photo

Hot Water Music

Hot Water Music Biography

Gainesville, FL-based post-hardcore quartet Hot Water Music were formed in 1994 by singers/guitarists Chuck Ragan and Chris Wollard, ba**ist Jason Black, and drummer George Rebelo. Debuting in 1995 with the 7" "Eating the Filler," they soon returned with the EP Push for Coin, rounding out the year with the release of their first full-length effort, Finding the Rhythms on No Idea. Fuel for the Hate Game followed in 1996, but in the wake of their third album, Forever and Counting, Hot Water Music disbanded. The group soon re-formed, however, with a series of split singles as well as a new 7", "Alachua," spread across 1998; a year later saw the release of a new studio album, No Division, as well as the Live at the Hardback set and the Moonpies for Misfits EP. Wollard and Rebelo also teamed on the side project Blacktop Cadence. br /br /Flight and a Crash marked the band's first release for Epitaph and of the new millennium, soon followed by 2002's Caution. The roundup compilation Never Ender appeared in early 2004, and The New What Next came out that fall. Around the same time, No Idea also finally released the full-length debut of Ragan and Wollard's acoustic side project with Samantha Jones (of b**hin'), Rumbleseat. Hot Water Music went on an extended break in spring 2005 so that Ragan could concentrate desired time to life outside of the band. Meanwhile, the rest of the band went on to form the Draft with Todd Rockhill, and subsequent nationwide touring followed. A formal announcement appeared in May 2006 that HWM had officially called it quits. ~ Jason Ankeny, All Music Guide

Related Links

No links are attached to this artist.